You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Asia > Azerbaijan


Azerbaijan: population and cities



According to Countryaah website, the country has around 9.2 million residents.

Azerbaijan: population and cities

Ethnic composition

The country's population is made up of around 90% Azerbaijanis, 3.2% Daghestani, 2.5% Russians, 2.3% Armenians and 2% other ethnic groups.

Religious affiliation

About 90% of the residents of Azerbaijan are Muslim, of which about 65% are Sunnis and 35% Shiites. However, only about a tenth describe themselves as regularly practicing Muslims, which is a result of Soviet rule. There is only an incipient spread of more Orthodox religious practice in the south of the country, due to Iranian influence. In Azerbaijan there are also small minorities of Christians (Orthodox Russian and Orthodox Armenian Church) of around 1.5% and few Jews.

National languages

The official language is Azerbaijani, a Turkic language. It is spoken by around 90% of the population. Furthermore, around 3% speak Russian and 2% speak Armenian (in the Nagorno-Karabakh area).

Capital, other cities

The capital of Azerbaijan is Baku with around 2.1 million residents.

Other larger cities are:

Gəncə with around 300,000 residents,

Sumqayıt with around 290,000 residents,

Mingəçevir with around 100,000 residents,

Qaraçuxur with around 70,000 residents,

Əli Bayramlı with around 70,000 residents.

Azerbaijan: geography, map

Azerbaijan covers an area of 86,600 km². Thereof:

Azerbaijan: geography, map


Around 10% of the country is forested.

Meadows and pastures

Around 25% of the land is used as meadow or pasture land.

Fields and fields

Around 23% of the land is used as arable land or fields, especially for growing grain, fruit, vegetables and cotton. About 74% of the cultivated area is irrigated.


About half of Azerbaijan is mountainous country.

National borders

Defined by DigoPaul, Azerbaijan is located in Western Asia on the border between Europe and Asia in the Caucasus and the Caspian Sea. The Nakhichevan exclave, southwest of Armenia, belongs to the country.


Azerbaijan borders on five states:

- Armenia with a total length of 787 km (of which 221 km is the border with the Nakhichevan exclave)

- Georgia with a length of 322 km

- Iran with a total length of 611 km (of which 179 km is the border with the Exclave Nakhichevan)

- Russia with a length of 284 km

- Turkey with a length of 9 km (Nakhichevan)


Azerbaijan has a coast to the Caspian Sea with a length of about 800 km.

However, the Caspian Sea is an inland lake and not a sea in the strict sense of the word. It is also not connected to the oceans. More below.

Longitude and latitude

Azerbaijan extends over the following geographical latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from 38 21 'to 41 51' north latitude

Δλ = from 45 to 50 37 'east longitude

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.

Legal time

For Azerbaijan, the following value applies to Central European Time (CET), i.e. the time without summer time. A minus sign means that it is earlier there and a plus sign that it is later than after CET:

Δt (CET) = + 3 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

Highest level of the sun in Baku

Baku is located at a northern latitude of around φ = 40.5 = 40 30`

If the sun is at the tropic, i.e. at δ = 23.5 , summer begins in Baku, this is June 21. Then, for the highest position of the sun at noon, according to Eq. 1 (see position of the sun):

40.5 = (90 - h) + 23.5


H = 73

At 73 , the sun in Baku has the highest level of the entire year above the horizon (more precisely: above the horizon).



The highest mountain in Azerbaijan is the Bazar-Dyuzi with a height of 4,480 m.

Other high mountains:

- Schachdag with a height of 4,243 m

- - Kapydzik with a height of 3,904 m

G'amis with a height of 3,724 m

- Babadag with a height of 3,629 m.



The longest river in the country is the Kura with a total length of 1,364 km.


Another long river is the Macaw with a length of 1,072 km.


The lower reaches of the 213 km long Samur, which flows into the Caspian Sea, forms part of the border between Azerbaijan and Russia.

Lakes, Caspian Sea

Azerbaijan Islands is located on the east coast of the Caspian Sea.

The Caspian Sea is the largest inland lake in the world as the lake is surrounded by land and has no natural connection to the oceans. With an area of 386,400 km² and a water volume of 78,700 km³, it also has the largest fresh water reserves. Its main tributaries are the Volga, Urals, Kura, and Terek. the lake has no significant natural outflows, but there is a navigable connection to the Black Sea via the Volga, the Volga-Don Canal, the Don, the Sea of Azov - a tributary of the Black Sea and the Kerch Strait. In addition to Azerbaijan (in the west), Turkmenistan (in the east), Iran (in the south), Kazakhstan (in the north) and Russia (in the north) border the Caspian Sea.

The greatest depth measured from the surface of the water is around 995 m

The sea lies roughly in a north-south direction and has a length of around 1,200 km, with a maximum width in the southern part of around 425 km. The most famous city on the Caspian Sea is certainly Baku - the capital of Azerbaijan.


The second largest lake in the country is the Sarisu (Mingäçevir Su Anbari) with an area of only 67 km².

Cilov, Pirallahr

Azerbaijan has two tiny islands in the Caspian Sea, Cilov and Pirallahr.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.