You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Oceania > Marshall Islands

Marshall Islands

Marshall Islands Population, cities


According to Countryaah website, the Marshall Islands have about 58,000 residents.

Marshall Islands Population, cities

Ethnic groups

The residents are Micronesians.


The main religion is Christianity, especially Protestantism.


The official national languages are English and Marshallese, and Japanese is also spoken by a minority.

Capital, other cities

The capital of the Marshall Islands is Delap-Uliga-Darrit (DUD-Municipality). The city is spread over the three islands of the Majuro Atoll (Delap, Uliga and Darrit). The population is around 25,000 and thus more than two thirds of the entire population of the island state. By the way, the most important government buildings and authorities are on the island of Darrit.

Marshall Islands: Geography and Map

Defined by DigoPaul, the Marshall Islands are located in the North Pacific in Micronesia, halfway between Australia and the USA. They are north of the equator. The archipelago covers a total area of 181 km², including the Bikini-, Enewetak-, Kwajalein-, Majuro, Rongelap- and the Utirikatoll. Of the land area are:

Marshall Islands: Geography and Map

  • Forest

    Around 22% of the country is forested.

  • Meadow and pasture land

    Around 13% of the land is used as meadow or pasture land.

  • Arable land and fields

    Around 33% of the land is used as arable land or fields.

General, islands of the state

The Marshall Islands extend over five larger islands and 29 coral atolls, each of which has countless small islets. The Marshall Islands consist of a total of 1,225 islands. These can be divided into two island chains, the eastern Ratak chain (sunrise) and the western Ralik chain (sunset). Both run from northwest to southeast. A total of 24 of the islands and atolls are inhabited.

The largest five islands are the atolls of:

  • Bikini, with a land area of 6 km² and a lagoon area of 594 km²
  • Eniwetok, with a land area of 7 km² and a lagoon area of 1,004 km²
  • Kwajalein, with a land area of 16 km² and a lagoon area of 2,174 km²
  • Majuro, with a land area of 9 km² and a lagoon area of 295 km²
  • Rongelap, with a land area of 8 km² and a lagoon area of 1,000 km²
  • Utirik, with a land area of 2.5 km² and a lagoon area of 56 km²


Marshall Islands have a combined coastline km with a length of about 370th

Tidal range

On the Marshall Islands the mean tidal range is around 2-3 m.


The world's highest tidal range can be found in the Bay of Fundy in Canada, where it is up to 16 meters, and at spring tide even over 20 meters. The Bay of Fundy is located on the Atlantic between the Canadian provinces of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, which is called Nova Scotia in German and whose capital is Halifax.

On the German North Sea coast it varies between one and three meters. In the western Baltic Sea, on the other hand, the tidal range is only 0.3 meters, while it is barely noticeable in the eastern Baltic Sea.

Longitude and latitude

The Marshall Islands extend over the following geographical latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and geographical longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from 04º to 14º South

Δλ = from 160º to 173º East

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.

Legal time

On the Marshall Islands, the following value applies to Central European Time (CET), i.e. the time without summer time. A minus sign means that it is earlier there, a plus sign that it is later than CET:

Δt (CET) = + 11 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun on Uliga

Uliga lies at a southern latitude of φ = 06 30 ', i.e. in the middle of the tropics.

If the declination of the sun is 06 30 'north and the image point of the sun is exactly above the city, the sun is perpendicular to the city. This happens exactly twice a year, roughly 25 days before March 21st and 25 days after September 21st


If the image point of the sun and thus the declination δ is north of the latitude of Uliga, the sun is not in the south at noon, as in our latitudes, but in the north. In this case, the sun moves from east to north to west, where it then sets, as it does with us (see position of the sun).

Elevations on the islands

The highest point is on Likiep with 10 m above sea level. On average, the islands are only 2 m above sea level.

The Pacific

The Marshall Islands border the Pacific Ocean with a total coast length of 370 km - more precisely, the Marshall Islands are located in the South Pacific, the so-called South Sea. This region of the Pacific Ocean includes the Polynesian Islands as well as parts of Melanesia and Micronesia.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2021 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved.