You are here: Top Engineering Schools > Oceania > Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna Population and capital


According to Countryaah website, the Wallis and Futuna archipelago has around 16,000 residents, of which approx. 67% live on Wallis and 33% on Futuna. Less than 10% of the population have a more or less regular job.

Wallis and Futuna Population and capital

Ethnic groups

Around 93% are Polynesians and around 7% French.


The main religion is the Christianity with around 99% Catholics.


The official languages are French and two different Polynesian languages. This is because Futuna was settled from Samoa and Wallis from Tonga.


The capital of Wallis and Futuna is Mata-Utu on the island of Uvea with a population of about 1,150.

Wallis and Fotuna: Geography and Map

Wallis and Futuna Islands, area

Wallis and Futuna are a French overseas territory and consists of two archipelagos - Wallis and Futuna, which are approximately 215 km apart. Wallis - also known as Uvea - in the center of the Wallis Islands, the island of Futuna and the island of Alofi, which is no longer inhabited. In addition, there are 19 other small islands that are located in the coral reef, which runs around 4 km around the island of Uvea. Check topmbadirectory for politics, flags, famous people, animals and plants of Wallis and Futuna.

Wallis and Fotuna: Geography and Map

The island of Wallis (Uvea) has an area of around 76 km², the island of Futuna an area of around 46 km² and the uninhabited island of Alofi an area of 18 km². The archipelago is of volcanic origin and relatively mountainous. Futuna and Alofi are also known here and there as Horn Islands. Despite the sometimes wonderful beaches, tourism on the islands is not yet very developed. Wallis and Futuna have a sea coast with a length of around 130 km.

Tidal range

The tidal range, i.e. the height difference between low water at ebb and high tide at high tide, reaches up to 4 m in Wallis and Futuna.

Longitude and latitude

The island state extends over the following geographical latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and geographical longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from around 13 18 'S to 14 26' S

Δλ = from around 176 04 'W to 178 12' W

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude.

Legal time

The following value applies to Central European Time (CET), i.e. the time without summer time. A minus sign means that it is earlier there and a plus sign that it is later than after CET:

Δt (CET) = from - 11 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun on Mata Utu

Mata Utu on the island of Wallis lies at a geographical latitude of rounded 13 . If the sun or its pixel is exactly above the city or island, i.e. at 13 S, the sun is perpendicular there. This happens twice a year, roughly 50 days before March 21st and then again 50 days after September 21st.


If the image point, i.e. the declination, of the sun is north of the latitude of Matu Atu, the sun moves from east to north to west, where it sets.

The sun is then at noon in the north and not in the south as it is with us


Mont Singavi

The highest mountain in the country is Mont Singavi with a height of 765 m on the island of Futuna.

Other high mountains are:

Mt. Puke with a height of 524 m on the island of Futuna

Mt. Kolofau with a height of 417 m on the island of Alofi

Mt. Lulu Fakahega with a height of 145 m on the island of Wallis.


There are no rivers that are constantly filled with water on the islands.



There are several crater lakes on Uvea Island.

The largest lake is Lake Kikila with an area of about 0.179 km².

Other crater lakes are:

the Lalolalo is a beautiful and almost circular crater lake with an area of around 0.152 km²,

the Lanutavake has an area of only around 0.046 km².


Wallis and Futuna border the Pacific Ocean with a total coast length of 130 km - more precisely, Wallis and Futuna are located in the South Pacific, the so-called South Pacific. This region of the Pacific Ocean includes the Polynesian Islands as well as parts of Melanesia and Micronesia.



Algeria Angola
Benin Botswana
Burkina Faso Burundi
Cameroon Canary Islands
Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Comoros
D.R. Congo Djibouti
Egypt Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea Ethiopia
Gabon Gambia
Ghana Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast
Kenya Lesotho
Liberia Libya
Madagascar Malawi
Mali Mauritania
Mauritius Morocco
Mozambique Namibia
Niger Nigeria
Reunion Republic of the Congo
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Somalia
South Africa South Sudan
Sudan Suriname
Swaziland Tanzania
Togo Tunisia
Uganda Zambia


Afghanistan Armenia
Azerbaijan Bahrain
Bangladesh Bhutan
Brunei Cambodia
China Cyprus
East Timor Georgia
Hong Kong India
Indonesia Iran
Iraq Israel
Japan Jordan
Kazakhstan Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon Macau
Malaysia Maldives
Mongolia Myanmar
Nepal North Korea
Oman Pakistan
Palestine Philippines
Qatar Saudi Arabia
Singapore South Korea
Sri Lanka Syria
Taiwan Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey
Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Vietnam


Aland Albania
Andorra Austria
Belarus Belgium
Bulgaria Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland
France Germany
Greece Hungary
Iceland Ireland
Italy Kosovo
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
Russia San Marino
Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain
Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine Vatican City

North America

Canada Greenland
Mexico United States

Central America

Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Bahamas Barbados
Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Cuba British Virgin Islands
Costa Rica Curacao
Dominica Dominican Republic
Ecuador El Salvador
Guadeloupe Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Martinique
Montserrat Panama
Puerto Rico Saba
  Trinidad and Tobago

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia French Guiana
Guyana Nicaragua
Paraguay Peru
Uruguay Venezuela


Australia American Samoa
Cook Islands Easter Island
Fiji Falkland Islands
Guam French Polynesia
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Caledonia New Zealand
Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Palau Pitcairn
Samoa Papua New Guinea
Tokelau Solomon Islands
Tonga Tuvalu
Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Top 50 Engineering Schools in Asia

Copyright 2022 Top Engineering Schools All Right Reserved. Africa - Asia - Europe - North America - Oceania - South America