Brunei Population, Main Cities and Geography

By | January 27, 2023

Brunei: population, cities


According to Countryaah website, Brunei has around 415,000 million residents.

Ethnic composition

67% Malay (see also Malaysia), 22% other, 11% Chinese (see also China)


67% Muslims (see also Islam), 13% Buddhists (see also Buddhism), 10% Christians (see also Christianity), 10% others

National languages

In Brunei the official languages are Malay and English (see also England and Great Britain). However, a lot of Chinese is also spoken.

Capital, other cities

The capital of Brunei is Bandar Seri Begawan with a population of 50,000 and 290,000 in the district of the same name. The capital was renamed from Brunei Town to today’s Bandar Seri Begawan in 1970. According to Abbreviation Finder, BRN stands for Brunei in English. Click to see other meanings of this 3-letter acronym.

Another big city is Kampong Ayer with a size of about 30,000 residents. Until the founding of Brunei Town in 1906, the city held the function of the sultan’s seat and thus the capital.

Brunei: geography, map

Brunei is located – together with part of Indonesia and Malaysia, by which it is surrounded – in the northwest of the island of Borneo and covers a total land area of 5,765 km². About 80% of the country is covered with forest. The sultanate is divided into two separate areas by Malaysia and a river delta belonging to Malaysia, the Limbang Corridor. The eastern part of the country is the Temburong district with the capital Bangar. Brunei has a 380 km long border with Malaysia. Check topmbadirectory for politics, flags, famous people, animals and plants of Brunei.

The coast to the South China Sea has a length of around 160 km.

Longitude and latitude

Brunei extends over the following geographical latitude (abbreviation Δφ) and geographical longitude (abbreviation Δλ):

Δφ = from 5 ° 05 ‘to 4 ° 00’ north Δλ = from 114 ° 04 ‘to 115 ° 24’ east

You can find detailed information on this subject under Longitude and Latitude

Legal time

For Brunei, the following value applies to Central European Time (CET), i.e. the time without summer time. A minus sign means that it is earlier there, a plus sign that it is later than CET:

Δt (CET) = + 7 h

Further and detailed explanations of the time can be found under Time zones, time.

The highest point of the sun in Bandar Seri Begawan

Bandar Seri Begawan, the capital of the country, is located at a northern latitude of around φ = 05 ° and thus in the middle of the tropics.

If the declination δ of the sun has the value of 05 ° N, and thus the image point of the sun is exactly above the city, the sun is vertically above the city. This happens exactly twice a year, roughly 19 days after March 21st and 19 days before September 21st.


If the image point of the sun and thus the declination δ is north of the latitude of Bandar Seri Begawan, the sun is not in the south at noon, as in our latitudes, but in the north. In this case, the sun moves from east to north to west, where, like us, it sets.


Bukit Pagon

The highest mountain in the country is the Bukit Pagon with a height of 1,850 m.

Bukit Teraja

Another “mountain” is the Bukit Teraja with a height of 442 m.



The longest river in the country is the Belait with a length of around 570 km.

Other rivers in the country are:

  • Tutong
  • Kedvan
  • Temburong


Tasek Merumbun

The largest lake in the country is the Tasek Merumbun.


Brunei is located on the island of Borneo and borders Malaysia, which encloses it on the land side. In addition, in the southern part of the island there is also a part of Indonesia which occupies most of the island. Borneo covers an area of 751,936 km² and is the third largest island in the world after Greenland and New Guinea. The length of the coast of Borneo is 4,970 km. A total of around 17 million people live on the island. The highest mountain on the island is in Malaysia – in the north of the island. It is Mount Kinabalu, 4095 m high. Large parts of the island are still densely forested.

The largest cities on Borneo are, besides the capital of Brunei, Bandar Seri Begawan with around 50,000 residents:

Kuching in Malaysia with around 633,000 residents

Banjarmasin in Indonesia with around 600,000 residents

Kota Kinabalu in Malaysia with around 545,000 residents

Pontianak in Indonesia with around 465,000 residents

Sandakan in Malaysia with around 455,000 residents

Balikpapan in Indonesia with around 450,000 residents

Samarinda in Indonesia with around 355,000 residents

Tawau in Malaysia with around 354,000 residents

Miri in Malaysia with around 257,000 residents

South China Sea

Brunei borders the South China Sea in the north of the country over a length of around 160 km. The South China Sea is part of the China Sea and a marginal sea of the Pacific Ocean (Pacific).

You can find a detailed description of these seas at Goruma under the following links:

– Pacific Ocean

– China Sea

– South China Sea

Brunei Population